Profile of UNA District

The present Una district until 1st Nov., 1966 was one of the tehsil of the Hoshiarpur district of Punjab. Consequent upon reorganization of Punjab all the hill areas including Una tehsil was transferred to Himachal Pradesh. Eversince, until September, 1972 it continued to remain as tehsil of the then Kangra district. On the 1st September,1972 the Himachal Pradesh Govt. reorganised the then Kangra district into three districts namely Una, Hamirpur and Kangra. Una district consists of three Sub-Divisions(Una, Amb and  Bangana), three Tehsils(Bangana, Amb and Una) and two Sub-Tehsils(Haroli and Bharwain) and is having five Development Blocks(Una, Bangana, Gagret, Amb and Haroli).